The government should invest more money in teaching science than in other subjects for a country development and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a controversial debate about the importance of science subjects compared to other subjects. Some individuals argue that the government’s funding should be allocated to science subjects rather than other disciplines, as it ensures the country’s enhancement and progress. Personally, I strongly disagree with this suggestion due to some reasons that are explained in this essay.

Firstly, focusing solely on the science field leads to a narrow-minded educational system for students. Science is undoubtedly crucial for economic growth and innovations, however, other disciplines namely arts, literature, philosophy or history foster problem-solving, presentation skills, critical thinking and cultural awareness. History and literature, for example, are essential in raising student’s well-being in their rich cultural heritage and promoting the national identity to foreign friends. This evidence highlights a balanced approach to education, where science and humanities co-exist, is extremely beneficial for a country’s overall progress.

Secondly, humanities subjects play a vital role in effectively guiding science to its most socially beneficial conclusions. Solving several global problems needs a blend of science knowledge and insights from social science, geography, ethics and so on. Moreover, science could be said to be a tool and need a direction that can be used towards. Gen editing might be a noticeable example that there are many ethical issues unless it requires those who can consider potentially social consequences. Without humanities and arts, science might not serve the benefit of mankind, and might deal with unpredictable impacts in people’s lives.

In conclusion, despite the importance of science subjects, I wholeheartedly believe that a well-rounded education concluding both science and non-science subjects would be the best choice for fostering various skills such as communication skill, critical thinking or analytical skill. Thus, government should contribute resource to science fields as equal as other disciplines to strengthen a country’s development and progress.