The government should invest more money in teaching science than in other subjects for a country development and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that subjects related to science should be spent more money than others by governments, in order to develop the nations. Though science is crutail for economic growth, art plays a significant role in fostering the country’s development as well.

On the one hand, knowledge gained from math or physics can be applied for invention to foster economic growth. For instance, Edison invented the very first bulb for humans which was a magnificent step for civilization era. Many other breakthrough innovations such as steam engines laid the foundation for the first industry revolution (1.0) of human beings. Were humans never learn about science, these such advanced tech would never appear. Technologies assist humans in increasing considerable profit through maximising efficiency, which is the key to fostering the GDP of every nation. Therefore, science is vital for increasing countries’ living standards.

On the other hand, though the essential role of STEM is overlooked, citizens graduated from social fields contribute to a large proportion of GDP. Take some occupations that require creativity such as marketers or content creators as an example. People working in this field are forced to be creative to attract targetted clients and viewers to sell their merchandise. In addition, Korea entertainment industry contributes millions of dollars per year for this nation through films, music and shows. Apart from this, Korea tourism industry also take an indirect advantages of entertainment industry, because of the visit from the fans coming to join the Korean’music bands’ concerts.

In summary, both science and art subjects play an undeniable role for economic growth because of their contribution, should the governments spend national budget for both to maximize the economic development potential.