The homeless population is growing in many cities around the world . What is the causes of this ? What can be done to help this problem?

The number of people without specific place of living is increasing in many urban areas worldwide. In my opinion, capitalistic approach is the main cause of this problem and there are actions that governments can implement to solve it.

From my point of view, capitalism is the root of homeless people’s fate. As this approach means that everyone is responsible for their financial situation due to open market operations, social inequality appeared. If in socialism government able to help to everyone and guarantee home for everyone, in capitalism nobody cares about your economical situation. Also, in today’s competitive world it is hard to make money without skills. And people without any background usually stuck at the bottom of social hierarchy. “Rich get richer, poor get poorer”.

To help this problem, governments can imply several solutions. Firstly, it is possible to launch educational campaigns. Free and short courses of literacy or even specific professions could boost number of opportunities for homeless people and give them ability to earn by their own. It is cheap and effective at the same time. Next, government can relocate homeless from big cities to small towns with scarcity of workforce. By doing so, it will be cheaper for people to spend on housing and they will get decent job places. Additionally, it contributes to country’s economy, allowing even development of every city. Finally, playing with tax rates. Sometimes, tax rate is the main reason why some people aren’t able to grow financially. By increasing taxes for richer and decreasing for poorer, it will benefit both economy and society. Money earned from such a collections could be invested in building apartments and houses.

In conclusion, main reason behind being homeless is economic style called “capitalism” and only government has a power to make interventions to solve this issue.