The increasing frequency of satellite launches and space debris is becoming a threat to the Earth. What are the main causes? What measures can be taken to address this?

The escalation in numbers of spacecrafts and space debris is becoming a concerning threat to the earth. This essay will examine the detrimental effects of space vehicles on environment and mankind.

Due to development of wireless communication which is fast, secure and economic; a number of satellites were launched to make facility accessible to middle class. All the devices such as television, mobiles, wireless communication is based on the principle of wireless information exchange and in order to compete with demand, every country and channel industries collaboratively launch satellites which can transfer signals in a few microseconds. Moreover, Scientists desire for exploring space and other galaxies had put countries into a competition in which they compete with with each other in order to attract investments. Nuclear testing in space affects the magnetic storm resulting in transfer of earth’s magnetic field. Old and unused space shuttles still revolves around earth which is considered as space rubbish is seeing a upsurge after every decade.

This pervasive issue needs comprehensive examination and multiprolonged approach.UNA should lay down stringent rules which control launching of space debris by each organization or country and address to rubbish leftovers by them. More resources should be invested in order to increase effectiveness and size of the satellites which would decrease the number of them. A survey in 2015 by an US company states that there are over almost 15806 satellites that are covering every corner of the world are creating obstacle in formation of ozone layer which helps to protect us from UV rays.

In conclusion, there is an urgent need for policies of space and implementation of them to plunge the deterrent effects on earth and to protect space from pollution which cannot degrade there because of absence of air and moisture.