The influence of advertisements is increasing rapidly. Do the positive effects of this development outweigh the negative effects?

The advertising industry nowadays is one of the key figures in our lives. However, the growth of spreading people’s wants is resulting in a manipulative way. So even though they might have some positive aspects of it, like the variety of choices, etc. But I am still more focused on the negative effects, and that outweighs the positive ones.

At first, if we look at banners, it can be helpful, but when it comes to more and more ads, it may annoy us and even delay or persuadingly change our choice. Mostly, when we click on one ad, we will probably see a second ad, and will continue showing us methods by which people will buy multiple things at once. For example, in some regions, YouTube imposes barriers to freedom by showing some unrelated products. Usually, when you click on them, it will show them their other figures, which will take over your enjoyment and free time. By this, it’s not only harming our mental health but also increasing our stress rate and even more destroying our willingness to finish the video. S ,in my opinion there is nothing good about this strategy of collecting our attention, whereas making our decision even harder.

Another significant drawback of the community of sellers who shape our choice end up in a worse way because of inappropriateness. People who are interested in one product mostly will ignore it, but may also leave a bad comment on it, which will later connect with adverse security issues and start arguing about it. Moreover, it can increase people’s awareness of these platforms. This can be proved by one of the biggest network shops, Amazon, where you are searching for a certain item, but it shows you things that even sometimes children are not allowed to see. Although it might sometimes help you find interesting information, it still causes a lack of security, privacy, and unrelated offers that create problems for people who are using these methods to attract us.

In conclusion, consumers in the 2000s who use social media or websites are in a problematic situation where it’s hard to leave the communist environment of unnecessary goods. On the other hand, because we rely on it, we are losing freedom and personal choice. So I am strongly against bad attacks.