The main purpose of advertising is to increase the sales of products that people don’t really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that improving the sales of unnecessary products is the main aim of advertising. I completely agree with this viewpoint because advertising can stimulate people to buy unessential products and create the demand for them.

The main reason is that advertising can tempt people to buy products that they might not want. If a product is advertised with great advantages and benefits, customers could be attracted and make a decision to buy it. One such example of this is that every year people can be seen queuing to buy the latest models, while they already have a good phone that does not need replacing because of the impact of advertisements. Thus, advertising is considered one of the best ways to increase the sales of products.

Another compelling reason is that advertising does not simply meet needs, it creates them. This is because most people could still live comfortably with fewer products, but advertisements promote the desire for more things by appealing to customer psychology and making it become habitual. To illustrate, thanks to the influence of advertising, clothing has become the status symbol and shopping habit of many young people because they always want to stay up to date with the latest fashions.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that the rise of the sales of products that people don’t really need is owing to advertising- its main goal.