The main purpose of advertising is to increase the sales of products that people don’t really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some schools of thought argue that boosting the sales of products that people do not have a clear demand for is the primary purpose of advertising campaigns. Personally, I strongly disagree with this claim, based on the rationales proposed in this essay.

There are two main goals of advertising campaigns. A key objective of advertising is that, with the inexorable development of society, people are likely to achieve economic prosperity and better financial security, leading them to prefer living an affluent lifestyle. This means individuals have a variety of needs for their daily life, which cannot be satisfied with the products or services they already have access to. To this end, advertisements can promote a wide range of products and services, and offer individuals higher-quality alternatives, which helps consumers consider and pick the best option to buy among others. As a result, people can avoid buying either unworthy or inappropriate products, helping them improve their quality of life as well as refrain from wasting money.

Another major purpose is boosting sales and building the identity of the companies. Obviously, advertising activities can generate attention from consumers by providing useful information about both products and services, making these goods and services accessible to a large number of individuals. Hence, the more people discover about the commodities, the more purchases are made, which is synonymous with an increase in the overall sales of the companies. This improvement in sales can translate into increased profits and investments, enabling providers to expand their businesses and enhance the quality of their products. Consequently, the employment rate can increase, while consumers can obtain higher-quality goods.

In conclusion, although some advertising campaigns are designed to promote unnecessary products, the most dominant purposes of advertisements are not only to improve people’s quality of life but also to help providers enhance their revenue and reduce the unemployment rate.