Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and traditional methods of food preparation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In today’s fast-paced world, processed and ready-to-eat foods are becoming increasingly popular, leading some people to believe that traditional foods and organic cooking methods will eventually disappear. Others, however, argue that modern society needs to return to traditional foods, minimising the reliance on convenience products.This essay will discuss both views before explaining why I strongly disagree with the ongoing trend of pre-made meals diet.

On the one hand, convenience foods have already shaped a new concept of easy-eating, helping some people maintain their daily protein intake, avoid cooking for hours on their rare days off, and forget about constant meal preparation. It is especially relevant for the large families, where one person is responsible for the diet of all the members, including attention to all sorts of food allergies and personal preferences. In these cases, when just writing a shopping list for a family is already a great effort, it is always easier to buy pre-made foods to save time.

On the other hand, processed foods significantly reduce the quality of the diet due to their nutritional value. The products that normally require two to three ingredients to be produced, consist of ten and more components when bought at the convenience section of a supermarket.

Having said that, processed foods are not only lacking healthy nutrients, but also are not filling. For instance, many people get mistaken when having a processed snack after a long day, as it can lead to several consequences: it will not fill you up and might cause indigestion, trouble your sleep and highly likely affect your next day negatively, meaning that it can not fully replace traditional foods.

In conclusion, while processed foods are convenient and sometimes can make our lives easier, they come at the cost of health issues and will not be able to fully replace traditional foods and the way people prepare their food at home.