The main reason that people work hard is to make money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For many people, the reason to work hard is to earn money. Although I understand and agree with this mindset, I do not believe that money is the sole purpose for which one must work. In this essay, I discuss the importance and necessity of working hard for money, as well as other reasons for hard work.

The need for money is evident. All our needs, be it food or clothes or a roof over our heads, cost us money. We must therefore work in order to procure enough to keep ourselves alive and happy. The need to provide for ourselves and sometimes others as well, is vital. We must therefore put in effort and work to earn enough to take care of ourselves.

However, work should not be purely for money. We must also work to fulfill our part of society. We are only a cog in the machine. We must each do our part to ensure it functions properly. Our work does not only affect us or our loved ones, it can affect a plethora of people. A soldier lays down his life so that we can live ours without worry. A doctor studies for years and work day-long shift to ensure we are alive and healthy. Most of them don’t do it for the money, they do it for the honor and the people around them.

In conclusion, one must work hard not only for money, but to help others as well. While money does provide for him and his family, his work benefits a vast number of people, and that is equally important.