The maintenance of public libraries is a waste of money because of computer technologies that have the same function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the latest advancements in technology, especially the internet, it is widely argued that it is pointless to allocate a huge amount of money to public libraries when there are computer technologies that can perform the same function. While I agree with this viewpoint, I believe that there are other aspects to consider.

On the one hand, I admit that there are several benefits of e-libraries that are enabled by computers and theinternet. Firstly, everywhere we turn, we are constantly surrounded b the internet, so we all are likely to use it for several needs, such as reading books and gaining a new source of knowledge. We can save our valuable time due to reading online as a consequence. Secondly, there is an opportunity to have easy access to the e-books in many parts of the world. This means that it is more comfortable because of ubiquitous availability and lower cost for them instead of libraries. Therefore, in recent times, e-books have become increasingly common for people to read.

Nevertheless, I firmly believe that e-libraries cannot replace physical libraries for a variety of reasons. This is because reading books in only these libraries quite often can give a sense of fulfillment to people. Individuals can take a wider range of knowledge and learn how to imagine the book stories and think critically. In addition, such libraries may be more reliable than e-libraries, and they make people focus on their studies. They do not get distracted while using the public libraries so as to read something. If people spend much time reading from the internet, they may fail to concentrate on studies due to some distractions, like YouTube, Instagram, and TikTok, because they are designed to attractseeing them. Thus, it is better to use physical libraries, and the government should invest the budget in improving public library services as much as possible.

In conclusion, I have mixed opinions about the discussed topic, and certain cases could be true for different circumstances. That is why holding a firm opinion about it is more difficult than it seems, and balance should be a priority in my view.