The maintenance of public libraries is a waste of money because of computer technologies that have the same function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a prevailing belief that it’s pointless to maintain public libraries since modern technology has rendered them obsolete in recent years. Personally, I disagree with this view because, even though e-libraries can be advantageous in some ways, I believe that they can never replace traditional libraries for a number of reasons.

It is true that online libraries provide several unique benefits. One of them would be an unlimited amount of data. This is because online readers have access to more information compared to the information in books or newspapers, and they can find specific information without spending money and time due to the searchability and free content of the Internet. Another convenience of electronic libraries is their 24/7 availability, as individuals could read e-books and articles whenever they wanted, even at midnight, but it’s impossible to enter the physical libraries in the evenings because of fixed working hours. Additionally, digital libraries can offer multimedia content, which means that people can get information in different formats, including audios, videos, and texts.

However, I would argue that community libraries continue to play a key role in modern society. Firstly, those who prefer to get information from public libraries cannot be easily distracted because these places are specialized for only reading books. Secondly, physical book readers can get reliable and valid information. The reason is that only expert journalists and expert writers are able to write and publish books, and this information is always taken from reliable sources. Finally, it’s easier to find like-minded people by going to conventional libraries and discussing the books and changing their ideas about them, which can help these individuals absorb more information easily.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge the possible advantages of digital libraries, it seems to me that conventional libraries remain irreplaceable for the reasons stated above.