The media should stop reporting details of crimes to the public because it only has negative influences on them. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is common that the media reports details of the crime to the public, but there is an opinion that this should be stopped as this only has a negative effect on society. I agree with that the statement as this has a negative effect on criminally inclined people, being an inspiration for them, and may influence the objectivity of the general public and, thus, force the jury while the court processes to come up with a quick affirmative accusation, which may be false.

To begin with, I see reporting the details of the crimes harmful, as this has a negative effect on criminally inclined people. Some people might be inclined to do crimes, because they are genetically inclined to do them, and having the material to copy on, they might get inspired, which eventually results in a crime act. Such people might have never committed a crime if they would not get exposed to the details of the crimes. For instance, many serial killers and school shooters admitted that they were inspired by previous violent acts.

Besides, I am convinced that reporting the details of the crimes has a negative effect on the judge process. Knowing how evil the guilty person is, the general public might demand to find the criminal as soon as possible. This may force the jury to fasten the court processes, missing some important evidence both for accusation and acquittal, leading to biased conclusion. Moreover, as the jury consists of ordinary people, it is also affected by such reports as they form some view of a guilty without buttressing on the facts of the crime. Ultimately, reporting the details of the crimes might result in quick false-positive judgement.

In conclusion, i do support the idea of prohibiting the reports which include the details of the crimes, as such reports may become an inspiration for future criminals and leads biased judgement, resulting in quick judicial opinion, which may be false.