The media should stop reporting details of crimes to the public because it only has negative influences on them. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is common for the media to report details of the crimes to the public, but there is an opinion that this should be stopped as this only hurts society. I agree with that statement as this has a negative effect on criminally inclined people, being an inspiration for them, and may influence the objectivity of the general public and, thus, influence the jury during ongoing court processes to come up with a quick affirmative accusation, which may be false.

To begin with, I see reporting the details of the crimes as harmful, as this has a negative effect on criminally inclined people. Some people might be inclined to commit crimes because they are genetically inclined to do them, and having the material to copy, they might get inspired, which eventually results in a criminal act. Such people might have never committed a crime if they were not exposed to the details of the crimes. For instance, many serial killers and school shooters admitted that previous violent act inspired them.

Besides, I am convinced that reporting the details of crimes has a negative influence on the judicial process. Knowing the details of the guilty person’s evil, the general public might demand to find the criminal as soon as possible. This may force the jury to hasten the court processes, missing some important evidence for both accusation and acquittal, leading to a biased conclusion. Moreover, as the jury consists of ordinary people, it is also affected by such reports as they form a view of the guilty without focusing on the facts of the crime. Ultimately, reporting the details of the crimes might result in a quick false-positive judgment.

In conclusion, I support prohibiting reports that include the details of crimes, as such reports may inspire future criminals and lead to biased judgment, resulting in quick judicial opinion that may be false.