The most common solution for criminal behavior prison, but many believe education is a better method. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

While prison remains the most common punitive measure globally, opinions are divided on its effectiveness. I agree to some extent that being behind bars isn’t effective in the long run, and working for society can be more beneficial for both perpetrators and law-abiding citizens.

A compelling argument in favour of jails is the unstable mental health of some offenders. Some criminals may suffer from severe mental disorders, such as schizophrenia or bipolar disorder. Not only can these perpetrators pose a threat to society, but there is also no guarantee for their recovery. Therefore, prisons can provide art therapy courses and create a solitary and peaceful environment for offenders’ healing. Consequently, serving a prison sentence can be beneficial for criminals’ health and preserve social welfare.

On the flip side, doing community service and providing a high-quality educational system can be beneficial for offenders’ integration back into society. Not only can perpetrators preserve their liberty, but they can also create positive changes in city development. Additionally, if governments provided specialized lessons or courses focused on mental well-being and law enforcement for offenders and children in schools, it would address the root causes of crime, such as family problems and a lack of knowledge regarding the legal system. Consequently, in the long run, community service and a well-made educational system can turn one’s life around and offer alternative punitive measures.

In conclusion, while prisons are necessary for dangerous criminals, I believe that proper education and community service are the long-term solutions to reduce criminal behaviour.