The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Science has been developing quickly lately, there has always been a debate about the main aim for science, in my opinion, the main aim is to provide humans with easier life, while keep continuously improving it, and there are many points defending this argument.

Electricity can be a very good example to defend the point. In the late centuries as in this century also, science has played a huge role in people’s live, discoveries like electricity, and new introductions like lamps, have been used by engineers and scientists to lighten up houses and facilities all over the world. Electricity has also made easier for people to get water at their own homes without walking miles to reach it.

Developments and research in biology contributed in improving the humanity, many diseases weren’t possible to treat 100 years ago, but nowadays, people’s lives are being saved because of this huge achievements in science. Science didn’t only help with humans’ basic needs, it also provide humanity with luxurious life, people are able to travel thousands of kilometers in hours right now. The main drawback of science is its introduction of new environmental problems, Ozone layer depletion for instance, also science has been also used to produce weapons with abilities to destroy the whole planet.

To conclude, science has been adding to humanity more than humans have expected, what was impossible before 2 centuries is now totally easy, but humanity should be worried enough about its drawbacks, as it can backfire at us at any time. The more knowledge we gain, the greater the responsibilities we get.