The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Nowadays, the web has known a spectacular growth and this trend has transformed access to news to become faster and easier. Consequently, newspapers have declined and an important portion of people believe that there is no future for this industry. On the other hand, others argue that journals remain popular and they are not threatened by digitalization of information. However, in my opinion, the newspapers fall is unstoppable due to the massive effects of technical progress. This essay will emphasise my view.

Firstly, the digital revolution has changed considerably a plethora of things in our lives and particularly concerning the access to news. Indeed, currently, there are various ways to get headlines such as social media, freelance journalism or all-news channels. A consumer can choose different types of media to be informed. For instance, during the last presidential election in the United States, millions of American citizens checked results and ballots counting on Twitter or on CNN.

Secondly, digitalization reduces the necessity to buy physical magazine. Indeed, a consumer is now able to read headlines directly on his phone or on his computer. Consequently, the number of newspapers bought per week has decreased for fifteen years and the journalism industry has adapted his offer with website and smartphone applications. For example, recently a poll survey has showed that a majority of tabloids readers preferred to use their phone.

Thirdly, today, the demographic trend illustrates that elderly people continue to buy physical journals, but it was less the case for the younger.

To conclude, I believe that headlines are currently more read on internet and this dynamic will be stronger in the future.