The older people who need employment have to compete with younger ones. What problems can this create? What are some solutions?

These days, older people, who look for a job, have to cope with the fierce rivalry in the job market with younger ones. This essay attempts to shed light on the problems which have resulted from this phenomenon before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle them.

There are two major problems related to this tendency. Firstly, elderly applicants might face difficulty in finding a job due to age discrimination. In fact, a large number of businesses are likely to require a certain age as a prerequisite and not recruit older candidates, which could deter their opportunity to get a job. Secondly, this phenomenon may adversely affect older individuals ‘ health. Since such older jobseekers have to spend a major part of their time to look for and struggle against the younger ones in the fierce competition of the job market, they could hardly look after themselves, which could put a pressure on their health.

To combat this worrying issue, the following feasible steps should be taken. One solution is that the government could stop discrimination against older workers by passing laws. For example, policy makers should impose a fine on companies which do not recruit or create job opportunities for older applicants. Another solution is that older applicants could take part in some specialized courses to improve their job skills. For instance, there is a wide range of useful websites and applications available on the internet, which candidates can utilize to learn more effectively. This, finally, could enable them to have better professional skills and further stand a higher chance to have a job.

In conclusion, there are some serious repercussions attributable to this negative tendency, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to deal with these issues.