The older people who need employment have to compete with younger ones. What problems can this create? What are some solutions?

It is true that fierce competition in the job market between older people and their younger counterparts has become an increasingly widespread concern. This essay attempts to shed light on the problems which have resulted from this tendency before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle this issue.

There are two major problems which the older generation has to face when competing with the young. First and foremost, due to age discrimination, older people are at greater risk of being jobless. In fact, employers in major firms often recruit young candidates who are energetic and creative, and this notion could deprive the old of job opportunities, even when they have similar abilities and qualifications. Secondly, old employees’ overall health might be negatively impacted. This is because their younger colleagues seem to be more creative and adapt themselves to changes at the workplace more easily than they could do, and this could put older workers under enormous pressure when trying to catch up with the young. This, therefore, could cause them to suffer from a variety of serious diseases, such as depression or mental breakdown.

To combat this worrying issue, it is crucial to take the following feasible steps. The first measure is that governing bodies should encourage enterprises to introduce policies aiming to protect older employees from employment discrimination based on age. For instance, they could heavily fine or even imprison recruiters who choose applicants based on age., and this could give senior citizens greater opportunities to land suitable jobs and earn a living. Another remedy is that older workers should be willing to update their skills through attending training courses. Consequently, through these programs, they could be able to cultivate relevant job skills, such as time management or problem-solving ability, which could not only improve their work performance but also help them keep pace with the young in their workplace.

In conclusion, there are a host of severe repercussions attributable to the increasing rivalry between the old and the young in the job market, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented not only by the governmental bodies but also by individuals to deal with these issues.