The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home to work, shopping and education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Incessant traffic jams and other traffic-related problems traffic volume has heightened public interest in the topic of how to curb daily commuting is the most effective way to do this. Although some believe that reducing the need, I believe that this measure would be unworkable and there are more acceptable methods

Firstly, reducing the need for residents to travel for work, study or shopping purposes is impractical. No matter how effectively modern technologies allow us to work, study, or carry out online transactions, most of us still prefer face-to-face interactions, perpetuating the need to travel. This can be seen in how business people choose to meet up halfway at a café to discuss a deal, how students prefer discussing an idea or a lesson at their school campus, and how we enjoy going to shopping malls. With our society still putting a significant amount of importance on real-life day-to-day conversations and interactions, the proposed scheme would not work.

Facilitating public transport appears to be a superior alternative solution. Since means of public transport that are not road-based, such as sky trains or subways, are largely underdeveloped in most cities, developing these can help people commute without causing congestion. For example, by investing significantly in building elevated and underground railways, Japan has managed to reduce traffic volume considerably, easing congestion on roads. Granted, using these means of transport could be expensive, but government subsidies would lower the prices of tickets, which will incentivize people to abandon their personal vehicles and subsequently reduce pressure on roads.

In conclusion, it is futile trying to get people to stay at home more for the sake of traffic, and investing in public transit systems would be a better remedy when it comes to alleviating traffic.