The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home to work, shopping and education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I tend to agree to some extent. Yes its true that one of many cause of traffic jam in big cities are mostly due to daily activities such as work, education, and many more. In this essay, i will tell you my reasoning.

It is certainly true that the cause of traffic in big cities nowadays are usually related to either work, education, shopping, or recreation, and maybe the only way to reduce it, is by reducing the need for people to travel. But, one of the way to reduce it, is by adding more public transportation. However, the actual reason on why traffic are always jammed on big cities are due to overuse of private vehicles. For instance, theres one car for each person, and if theres 100 person, there would most likely be 100 cars on the road. But, if some people decided to use the public transportation, the are obviously more space on the roads.

One of many solution to this problem is, provide more remote working. Remote working is a job that could’ve been done anywhere such as, home, cafes, and other private or public spaces. The problem is, not every job could have been done remotely. The range of Jobs that can be done remotely are limited. Another solution especially for education, is by online classes. It’s already reducing the need of using the traffic to go outside, an example of this is in Indonesia. In indonesia theres a specific University that only serves online classes, and it is really convienient for people who are also working at the time. However, the drawbacks of online cases are also many, for example, no proper network or device, and also people who had problems with their attention span.

In Conclusion, there are many ways to reduce traffic jamming in most big cities. But there is also many drawbacks to it. Therefore these are probably the most reasonable solution for this current problems in todays world.