The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home to work, shopping and education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are some people who likes to claim that, if we reduce the needs for people going to work, education or shopping than we can reduce the traffic problem. Now in first sight it may looks interesting but deeper look can reveal more errors in such reasoning.

There is no doubt on traffic being a major problem in urban areas. That is because it has made our time to get longer to perform a specific task. Since time is money,we are losing very crucial ingredients in our life. One solution is argue against going to work, education or shopping. Since most people typically go out to go to these places. If we somehow reduce their needs to going there we will directly reduce the vehicle use in urban areas. There are many way to do so.Since internet use has become more spread,we can try to increase online meetings, online classes or online shopping. By doing so we can allow people to perform their task easily in home.

Now there seems to be some problems in such reasoning. First I want to focus on online meetings case. This type of activity reduce friendship between colleagues and bosses. We all know negative impact of online friendship. Virtual friends are not same as real friends. To succeed in job you not just need a good relationship with your peers but also with your boss. Now let’s focus on online classes. Besides reducing friendship between peers it also not fixible. That is because there are places where internet connection is slow. So students from these regions will be find online classes to be less helpful. Plus in online exam cheating is quite easy. Same way online shopping isn’t always reliable because they tend to be more expensive compare to real shopping because of delivery charge. Same way sometimes products can be send to wrong places because of careless nature of some employees.

At the end, I do think this type of reasoning can reduce traffic but it also brings more major problems.