The percentage of overweight children in Western countries has increased by almost 20% in last ten years. Discuss the disturbing causes and effects of this trend.

The increase of overweight children has become a great concern in today’s world. While many factors have contributed to this specific problem, we can name some of them, such as, lack of physical activity caused by social media or intense pressure made by society. To tackle these problems, we have to set a proper time for using phones and reduce the stress from their lives.

Spending too much time on social media can make children out of shape. This is because children would put their energy and time on playing online without any physical movement instead of being outdoors and playing actual games which let them burn calories they gained from the food they ate. Parents should pay close attention to this matter and watch out their phone usage time and decrease it by setting a proper time for them to use.

Being under pressure is another worth of considering factors that can cause overweight. Pressure will cause anxiety and stress in children which in some of them, will shows itself as bad eating habits. As a result, children should be more relax and their mind should be free from the pressure caused by families, peers and other communities they intend to. Both parents and society should reduce these concers from children by eliminating exams from schools and the old trandition of comparing children’s skills.

In conclusion, children are getting lazy and lose interest in physical activities and they are also under pressure from their families, social media and school, which will cause overwight eventually. Parents should change their upbringing methods by considering the amount of time their children is spending on their devices and also getting close to them, and try to diminish their anxiety and stress.