The percentage of overweight children in Western countries has increased by almost 20% in last ten years. Discuss the disturbing causes and effects of this trend.

Western countries have seen an increase in the proportion of overweight children by almost 20% over the last decade. This essay will discuss probable causes of this trend and will indicate possible long-term effects.

It is common for children in western society to have sedentary lifestyle along with constant consumption of fast food. Nowadays, people rarely go outside and prefer sitting at home. For example, with a leap in the development of entertainment, including online games, TV shows and social media, adolescents would spend their time by playing games or watching videos on Youtube rather than meeting with their peers in real life. Besides that, fast food is another defining factor in the rise of teenagers suffering from obesity. Burgers, pizzas, sugar water are the food with low nutritional value but which tastes better than homemade meals. For this reason, there is a high chance that children would consume poor food on a regular basis.

Sedentary lifestyle and unhealthy diet may have terrifying long-term effects in the future. There are several health issues related to obesity. For instance, overweight people are more likely to have a heart attack, which is often might lead to fatality. Furthermore, obese people are less attractive and this factor perhaps might impact their social and personal lives. Failures in relationships with people are likely to cause loneliness and even depression.

Obesity is a serious problem that children in the western world have been experiencing recently. Thus, this essay has emphasized which factors cause this issue, namely poor lifestyle and overconsumption of fast food, and what long-term effects overweight people might face in the future, including health-related problems and deterioration in social communications.