The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the recent decade, a growing number of children have become obese. This essay will shed light on potential reasons for this trend including increasing consumption of fast food and sedentary lifestyle and also highlight some possible consequences including health risks.

To begin with, the obvious reason for the increasing rate of obese children is that they tend to take a large portion of unhealthy food in their daily diet. For instance, this food includes chips, pizza and soft-drinks having a high amount of calories, fat and sugar. Overeating of such food would undoubtedly increase one’s weight. Moreover, children’s lifestyle has becoming less these days. For example, watching televisions and playing video games for a long time have made them “couch potatoes”. Thus, it has been seen that intake of fast food and sedentary activities are two minor causes of children’s obesity.

In addition, there are some negative effects to children becoming overweight. First, children may catch chronic disease such as ‘diabetes’ which was used to be uncommonly found in the young age. Besides, it’s treatment includes a certain injection everyday. Second, according to medical science, fat children paradoxically have a low immunity. For instance, they can be the first one’s to catch cold or fever when the weather changes. Therefore, it goes without saying that gaining weight can lead to several health problems.

To recapitulate, this essay has illustrated that children’s obesity is mainly due to their calorie-rich diet and inactive lifestyle. Furthermore, it brings a variety of health disorder in the early stage of their lives.