The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The ratio of obese adolescents has rose by 20% in the developed world during the past decade. This essay describes the reasons and consequences of this ongoing fashion.

In my opinion, consuming more fast food and declining in physical activities are the major causes for this emerging problem. Children of western societies are heavily dependent on unhealthy junk food, which raises their body mass index above normal range. There is no trend of women cooking meals for their families like in traditional households. In such situations, children eat more burgers and pizzas than the healthy cooked rice or fish. Another justification for this issue may be reduced physical activities of the teenage. Many youth do not exercise, play sport or voluntarily take part in any activity. Instead, they enjoy playing video or online games on their mobile or PC. With such a lazy routine, children start to gain weight above what is expected to be normal.

Overweight children usually suffer from bullying in schools and start developing health issues. As per the report, the ratio of school bullying in western societies is huge. When these obese children enter educational institutions, they often become the victims of such problem, either from their seniors or classmates. What is next, their mental health starts to decline. Moreover, physical health issues also arise in overweight children, involving diabetes, cardiac problems, and others as they age.

In short, the percentage of overweight children has rose up to 20% in the modern world, resulting from unhealthy eating habits and reducing physical activities. This issue addresses other problems including bullying and health issues raising major concerns.