The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the last ten years, the number of obese children has increased by almost 20% in western countries. I believe that the main reason this horrible trend happened is because of the lack of sensible eating and the inactivity of children on daily basis. If this phenomenon is keep happening, it will impact the overall health condition due to many diseases caused by obesity.

Nowadays, children have lack of sensible eating behavior causing them to gain weight faster than older generation. This happened due to poor daily diet consist of junk food and unhealthy food with low nutrition value making it is easier to develop unhealthy habit of eating. In order to maintain a healthy consumption lifestyle parents need to pay attention to nutritional values offered by anything went through their children’s digestive system. Nutritionist stated that we need a well-balanced food to achieve a well-maintained body by paying attention of the number of calories, nutrients, and the amount of the food we consumed on daily basis. Therefore, parents need to pay attention to food pyramid to understand the proportion of how many carbohydrates, protein, fiber, and vitamins their children need to live a healthy lifestyle.

Not only is paying attention to food is matters, daily activities are also playing a significant role in decreasing the chance of obesity in children. Technology caused children to spend most of their time in front of screen either sitting or lying causing lack of body movement during the day which is harmful to their body. Human need to move their body every once in a while to maintain their physique condition making sure that our body able to burn the excess calories we consumed every day. The low amount of physical activities will rise up the chance of being overweight, therefore we need to familiarize children with active lifestyle to help them avoid being obese.

If we failed at reducing the number of obesity cases, we will increase the chance to contact other diseases related to obesity such as cardiac problems, cholesterol, and diabetes. Any individual who has this disease will not be able to be as productive as healthy person, therefore causing declining personal income. This phenomenon not only affecting the individuals, but also affecting the country as a whole. By becoming overweight and contacting other disease, the government needs to provide additional healthcare for those who are sick causing the raise of spending in healthcare issues.

In conclusion, the trend of obesity in children happened due to the poor diet and inactivity ion their daily basis because of nowadays situations. If we can not prevent this phenomenon from happening, it will affect the economy condition of the individuals and the country as a whole. Therefore, I suggest that we need to find the fastest action to control this trend.