The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organizations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

As we approach a world of developed technologies, the question of whether the advantages of keeping personal data on computers in companies and organizations outweigh its disadvantages has gained traction. While some argue that it has more cons due to the high possibility of online data theft, I side with those who believe that merits outweigh the potential drawbacks.

Nowadays, with the growth of cutting-edge technologies, the way of storing information in companies and organizations has changed. Workplaces are using the computers to keep personal data of employees, in order to, avoid the bureaucracy. However, the more developments on the software, the greater number of data thefts. Hackers are capable to gain unauthorized access to a database and steal data which results in the lack of security. Even for huge companies it is out of reach to prevent such online thefts. Furthermore, the problems with the memorizing the passwords of the database, and keeping them in secure may also arose. For these reasons, many companies are steel following the previous method of keeping paper-based documents, to ensure the privacy of their workers.

On the other hand, keeping documents online indeed has eased the working process for large companies. It is clear that the major corporations have a great number of workers, for this reason, the specialized archive rooms were required for keeping their data. Moreover, finding a particular person’s information was time-consuming because it was complex to search it over the several folders. Following the introduction of new system of storing data, it has become straightforward to search and use particular information quickly. Not only does company benefit from it, but employees also find it useful. If they used to gather many documents to apply for a job possession in the past, nowadays, it is possible to held them online and send to the workplace without being swamped with numerous documents. For this reason, I believe that such an approach to working process has brought more benefits rather than disadvantages.

To conclude, although some people are conscious about the privacy of their information while keeping them on the computers, and consider this process to lead to the bad consequences, I believe that with the diminish of bureaucracy, the pros of this trend outweigh its cons.