The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organizations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary era, technological advancements provide people with multiple conveniences and features. especially in e-communication. However, a pressing issue arises regarding personal information shared with companies that operate applications and websites. This personal information can potentially be used or leaked by these organizations without authorization, putting our safety at significant risk.

On the one hand, when companies and organizations save our information and data, they can run the required system smoothly, especially the system that constructs and operates around those specific individuals. For instance, hospital databases always record and hold patient data for years to analyze and acknowledge their medicine consumption and surgery operations,… this helps those hospitals to provide you proper and precise medicine in certain circumstances or diagnose you with higher accuracy. This can easily illustrate when a person goes blackout and the nurse sees the cardiovascular illness, and then she can suggest to the chief to check on a heart attack,… In consideration of the mentioned illustrations, this accessibility to such data can be very helpful.

On the other hand, this personal information can be used, spread, and leaked easily with or without authorization from its owner. There are many circumstances and situations where this vital information can easily be accessed by a cybercriminal. For instance, mobile phone providers can sell your number to real estate companies so that they can execute the ” do you interest” calls. Furthermore, a scammer can break through the firewall and steal the information; encryption sometimes can’t be avoided either. When a scammer has access to your data, he can open your bank account and transfer all of your life savings into his own account or for other purposes. Moreover, he can also implant a virus or parasite that would work autonomously to steal your money later on without him checking all the time.

In summary, I firmly agree that the advantages significantly outweigh the disadvantages. This issue forms the foundation of various necessities and applications in our daily lives. Without accepting a certain level of risk, we can miss numerous features that increase the quality of life.