The restoration of old buildings in major cities around the world costs enormous amounts of money. This money would be better spent on providing new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that renovation of aged buildings is extremely expensive, and it is better to invest this money in modern houses construction and road development. I absolutely disagree with this statement due to the following two reasons. Firstly, financing in reconstruction of older buildings preserves the historical heritage of cities, and secondly attracts new tourists to visit this place.

To begin with, reconstruction of old buildings influences cities positively, meaning that the architecture of those places will be renewed and preserved. To be more exact, it is crucial to look after historical places in order to maintain a connection with the past, which significantly contributes to preserving cultural identity. For example, restoration of historical places such as the Coliseum in Rome illustrates not only cultural awareness, but also enhances citizens’ pride.

Moreover, the reconstruction of aged facilities has a beneficial effect on visitors’ experience, who often look for places with rich cultural heritage and well preserved architecture. To be more specific, these places attract more tourists, who appreciate preserved historical sites, which cannot be replicated by new infrastructure. Consequently, this location can acquire more financing, leading to economic growth and improving civils’ life.

In conclusion, I believe that old housing reconstruction is notably important for cities as they largely improve architectural heritage and encourage local tourism.