The restoration of old buildings in major cities around the world costs enormous amounts of money. This money would be better spent on providing new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many cities, governments spent large amount of money restoring old buildings. Some people believe that funding would be better allocated to new housing and road development. While I believe that saving historical buildings is essential.

On the one hand, investing in new housing and transport systems is crucial for quickly growing urban population. Many cities face with problem such as housing shortages and severe traffic jam. By building modern residential areas and improving road networks, governments can improve quality of life and economic development. Furthermore, updated modern infrastructure often provides practical benefits for society.

On the other hand, ancient buildings play a crucial role in maintaining culture value. They attract tourism, which generates significant income. In addition, restoration projects can create employment opportunities and significant contribute to urban planning by reusing existing building instead of restoration.

In conclusion, although infrastructure development is necessary, I believe governments should continue investing for saving of historic buildings, as they provide culture, social and economic benefits.