The spread of urban areas has led to deforestation and has caused many animal species to become endangered. Environmental groups are urging governments to protect these animals. What are the benefits of protecting animals? What can governments do to protect animals?

Nowadays, more land is being converted into urban areas, leading to the loss of forests and putting many animal species in danger of extinction. Many environmental organizations are constantly urging government bodies to take action. This essay argues that the main benefit of protecting animals is preserving biodiversity, and authorities should establish more protected natural reserves to safeguard wildlife.

Preserving biodiversity is key to ecological stability. For example, diverse ecosystems such as forests can recover faster from natural disasters and keep some species from extinction. This is because the loss of one species results in the collapse of the whole habitat since it causes a domino effect. To illustrate, the loss of some birds will lead to an increase in the number of some insects, which can be harmful to wildlife. As a result, disease can spread among animals, which later can cause tragedy for humans.

In addition, governments should take responsibility for the lives of animals before dedicating land to urban places. For instance, administrations need to vet all types of species existing in the land in advance before drawing a map and making city plans. This facilitates transferring animals to existing natural reserves or discovering the need to open a new reserve without any damage to wildlife. If the burden of responsibility falls to the government, it tends to avoid any fatal outcomes.

In conclusion, there are particular advantages to protecting animals when there is the spread of urban areas and the cutting of woods. Ecological stability should be achieved by governments, which should take responsibility for the decisions made and for animal species.