The spread of urban areas has led to deforestation and has caused many animal species to become endangered. Environmental groups are urging governments to protect these animals. What are the benefits of protecting animals? What can governments do to protect animals?

In today’s modern world, the presence of vast population in city areas calls for exploitation of habitats, which in turn has affected numerous wild animals to be on the verge of extinction. In order to tackle this issue, different environmental groups are pressurizing government to safeguard animals in order to preserve bio-diversity and maintain stability in the food chain. Governments can implement strict regulations on the border areas of forests and provide the necessary funds to establish zoos.

Presence of numerous species decorate and balance the nature. Each animals in the wild habitats are connected with one another, which may be in the form of prey and predator in a food chain. Absence of even one species ultimately affects the another and eventually disturbs the overall food chain. For instance, disappearnce of deers in the wild life ultimately affects its predator; carnivores family, which in turn cease to existence. This also affects grass, which would excessively grow in nature.

Nevertheless, it can be reduced to minimun if the government plays its role in enforcing heavy laws and punishments. When the border between cities and forests are legally separated, people would not even dare to destroy a single tree near it. A prime example can be seen in Chitwan, Nepal, where habitats for wild animals are separated and secured even though the area is within the city. It has resulted in afforestation along with increasing numbers of endangered animals like one-horn rhinocerous and birds. Also the government can provide financial assistance to establish zoos in different areas to meet the necessary medical and shelter requirements to wild animals.

In conclusion, it is crucial to maintain stablility and balance in nature by introducing legal approaches regarding deforestation around urban areas.