The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, news reporters are inclined to demonstrate fear-inducing content, such as urgent issues and events, rather than positive news and achievements. Some argue that this rising trend is harmful for both individuals and society as a whole, and I cannot disagree with this statement.

On one hand, projecting what is happening in the world in terms of politics or in any other field is crucial to the people. The distressive news can increase citizens’ awareness. The more negative stories individuals see in the media, the higher the chance that the issue is soon to be solved. In addition, lots of notions about illnesses, for example, cancer, can encourage people to follow a balanced diet and a more active lifestyle to prevent potential risks of disease, and if it was not so widespread, people would be less concerned about such things.

On the other hand, the constant display of negative content may strongly affect the individuals’ mental health. Through the past few years, the number of devastating dissemination has rapidly increased, but the one for positive news did not change much. This way, people are consistently exposed to tons of information, which can lead to some unwanted consequences. They can get anxious and unable to focus on a single thing, whether it is work or a study. Also, the ones who cannot control the amount of content they consume are slowly becoming dominated by negativity that is so widely spread right now, becoming more pessimistic and scared of the future events. However, if the number of positive news increased, people would be less stressed and gloomy.

In conclusion, I would say that although it is essential to know about things that happen in realtime, reporters should post more about the positive occurrences, in order to prevent high levels of stress among the society.