The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Media tend to emphasis on negative events, instead of favoring positive news. Some people believe that it has harmful effects on individuals and society as a whole. I totally agree with the given opinion, because what appears to be harmless at first glance, can affect poorly people subconsciously and the press can confuse society.

The consequences of constant negative input might look insufficient. However, it can lead to serious mental problems. Consuming mostly bad news like reports from a warzone and emergency situations, induces anxiety and raises doubts. As a result, people form a pessimistic view of the world around them, which may eventually lead to depression or emotional numbness.For example, there is saying, ” One death is tragedy and a million is a statistics”. This suggests that the greater the volume of negative information, the less emotional response it gets.

In addition, the mass media distorts the perception of society. Highlighting only minuses creates the false image of certain groups of people or even the whole nation. This might lead to the discrimination or to the loss of reputation. For example, in film “Borat” producers concentrated mainly on downsides of Kazakhstan. Which resulted in formation of illusion of Kazakhstan as undeveloped 3rd world country amongst the auditory. Therefore, media focus on problems and emergencies has a adverse effects on people and society.

In conclusion, although shocking media content is good at gathering auditory, it harms wellbeing of citizens and society.