The tradition of families getting together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

In the modern era, families are losing the culture of eating meals by gathering themselves on a single table. It is because of busy routine and technology advancements. However, this change is causing negative impacts in people’s lives.

On the one hand, there are several reasons behind the loss of tradition. Firstly, people do not have free time because of hectic routines. Their working hours are also different from one another because of different professions such as a doctor and an engineer. Therefore, people eat their feasts whenever they find free time. Secondly, technological advancements play a crucial role in the loss of this tradition. With the advantage of remote work or hybrid work, individuals are constantly getting alerts from offices via emails, disrupting a balance between professional and personal life. Additionally, people prefer spending time on social media instead of spending time with families. As a result, people are unable to allocate their time for a family feast.

On the other hand, there are several disadvantages of this transition. Some people argue a family dinner provides an opportunity to share experiences and discuss problems with elders. In the absence of a family dinner, they are unable to learn anything from their elders and are left alone to face their issues. They contend, a family feast allows people to spend quality time with their family members, resulting in strengthening of their family bonds. Without this, their family bonds weaken with time and every individual will face loneliness, leading towards depression and anxiety.

In conclusion, people should try to preserve this culture of eating a feast together. This provides people to broaden their knowledge and make their relationships strong.