The working week should be shorter and workers should hava a longer weekend

It is believed that employees should work less and rest more. I totally agree with this opinion and consider that the five-days working week schedule is one of the main reasons for a burnout among workers. Thus, people might also need more time for recovery to later be more productive at work.

First of all, the number of days that individuals spend at work should undoubtedly be decreased. The reason for this is that most people actually work extra hours, which often adds a sixth day to the five-days working week. This is the case with Japan, where some employees singed forty-hours contracts, but, in fact, they must work extra hours either at home or at the office. Needless to say that this might easily lead to a mental and physical burnout which might have severe effect on one’s social life. That is why the idea to shorten the working week is worth-implementing.

Secondly, the weekend should definitely be prolonged, especially considering how hard some individuals already work. This is because it can eventually have a positive impact on workers’ productivity at their workplace. Some studies have already demonstrated that those who had a longer rest after a stressful working week may show better results in terms of productivity the next week. Hence, it is not only beneficial for employees, but also for companies – for their profits and eventual success at the market that they compete at.

Although one might disagree with the opinion that the number of days off should be raised and that of the working days declined, I absolutely support it since the extra rest that employees have may contribute greatly to both who execute the work and organizations.