The world of work is changing rapidly. Working conditions today are not the same as before and people no longer rely on taking one job for life. Discuss the possible cause for these changes and give your suggestions on how people should prepare for work in the future

The nature of work has been evolving dramatically, and one cannot depend on the same working conditions or stick to the same job throughout life. One has to be adaptable in the ever-changing environment.

There are several possible causes. Firstly, the integration of all machines with computer technology, embedding machine learning and artificial intelligence, has severely impacted jobs that focused on manual labour. Secondly, almost all the paperwork has been converted into a global network of data where everyone can access it from any corner of the world. This led to a sharp decline in the use of typewriters and handwritten documents. We also shifted from rigid hierarchical management to a more engaging one; finance doesn’t just include bookkeeping but also concepts like Fintech, cryptocurrencies and many more. Lastly, the automobile industry and other non-renewable-dependent industries have transformed into more sustainable ones, where electric cars and wind, solar and geothermal energy are dominating.

Owing to these shifts in the job market, people have to constantly update and upgrade themselves with current knowledge. Certain solutions can help upskill and encourage citizens to be better employees. For instance, governments can train youth through online learning programs and promote awareness of the changes. Organisations can incorporate Corporate Social Responsibility and focus on employee training and their welfare; schools must have subjects on current topics; practitioners of medicine should promote the new medical equipment and medicines launched to help doctors be more efficient; finally, journalists can encourage newer advancements by highlighting such news.

In conclusion, I would like to emphasise constant learning and changing jobs. Switching jobs may be tedious, but it would certainly help in the growth of an individual when they learn all the in-demand skills.