The world of work is changing rapidly. Working conditions today are not the same as before and people no longer rely on taking one job for life. Discuss the possible cause for these changes and give your suggestions on how people should prepare for work in the future

No matter the age, stepping into the world of work is stressful for the majority of people. The unknowns, new routines, and environments all pile on top of one another and cause intense fear for the upcoming candidates. Now, the conditions are changing fast, calling for even more worry.

There are many possible causes for this change. First being the introduction of artificial intelligence to our lives. Most employers now depend heavily on artifical intelligence to handle tasks, causing people to be forced to leave their jobs. This also leads to the dissapereance of some job titles. Those who dream of, or are aware of their capability in a specific job, choose not to pursue it, believing that they won’t win over AI.

Additionally, employers started having much higher and continously growing expectations from employees. A person who was chosen for a job cannot feel as secure as they did in the past, considering the fear of being replaced by a more skilled candidate. The number of highly capable candidates is also increasing rapidly, with the applications of the new, ambitious generation.

In order to prepare potential employees, some measures can be taken. In universities and higher education institutes, if a student shows hesitation to join a work force due to the worry of AI, they can be encouraged and supported more than they currently are. Even though this is one of the most challenging issues to prepare for, educators can try to show that humans can outperform AI. This is a personal experience, as a student who was discouraged from pursuing marketing and supported by my professors. Another way, though more of a prevention then preparation, can be followed by the employers. Companies with promising features can allow the tasks done by AI to be planned and checked by an employee, creating a new job to replace the ones lost.

Although the future of the job market seems unstable, steps can be taken to ensure security for employees. It is fairly important for both current and potential workers to be hopeful regarding their career’s future, and the above mentioned measurements may help ease the anxiety, wakening the negative aspects by inventing new opportunities and pros.