There are problems with traffic and housing in big cities. They can be solved by moving companies, factories and employers to the countryside. Do you agree or disagree?

Large urban settlements face problems related to traffic and housing. Although some might argue that these issues will always be associated with megalopolises, I side with the opinion that moving economic activity hubs to rural areas can alleviate the burden on urban traffic infrastructure and help solve housing issues in big cities, since businesses will no longer be based there.

First of all, it is employment opportunities that attract the majority of people to bigger cities. Consequently, the more businesses are based in a certain area, the more employees have to either commute or move there which puts a strain on traffic infrastructure. Therefore, allowing for better employment prospects in the countryside by encouraging employers to relocate there will reduce this imbalance.

Secondly, if companies no longer rented or owned property in cities, the real estate market would reflect this decline in demand, so housing could become more affordable overall. Moreover, city dwellers could choose to move to the countryside along with businesses instead of taking advantage of lower housing costs in cities. This could also be beneficial for them, since housing in rural areas tends to be cheaper and more spacious than that in urban areas.

To conclude, relocating businesses to rural settlements can solve issues related to strained road infrastructure and lack of affordable housing. This can be achieved thanks to creating better job openings outside cities and reducing commercial demand for real estate in urban areas.