there are several social consequences to housing shortages in cities, and only the government can solve this problem.Do you agree or disagree

A large number of countries have a serious problem of a shortage housing. Many people have opinion that only government can solve that issue. I disagree with that because housing problem can be solved by financial investment from private companies and developers.

Private developers have more abilities to build housing in a short period of time and more efficiently. Therefore they play an important role for solving problems with housing in countries. As private companies have their own financial abilities they do not rely on government budget which can be limited due to the financial support for education, medicine and military defence. Moreover, if private companies compete with each other in the same market, the number of housing will increase significantly.

The best option for government for tackling this problem is to regulate the housing market rather than support financially every construction project. As government is responsible for providing a healthcare, education and public infrastructure for its residents, there is a lack of finance. Consequently, the government can encourage private investments and reduce taxes for housing. Therefore, cooperation between public and government will help to reduce the problem with housing for many citizens.

In conclusion, I do not agree with the statement that only government can provide housing. Private developers can provide investment so that the housing market has more offers for residents, while the government will regulate the market.