There is a good deal of evidence that increasing car use is contributing to global warming and having other undesirable effects on people’s health and well-being. What can be done to discourage people from using their cars?

There is some undisputable evidence indicating that there is a link between car use and global warming as well as some other detrimental effects on people’s health and well-being. Therefore, certain actions need to be taken in order to persuade inhabitants not to use their cars. In this essay, I will suggest some recommendations on how to reach this goal.

It is widely accepted that improving public transportation can hugely encourage residents to take buses and the subway instead of their own cars. This approach could be highly successful and achievable provided that the public transportation is subsidized by governments so that it is affordable for all people. It is also proved that designing especial roadways which are solely dedicated to buses in the streets and motorways can efficiently make public transportation more reliable and convenient. In Iran, for example, the city council unveiled a Bus Rapid Transit scheme which its implement was warmly welcomed by the travelers and is viewed as a concrete example of encouraging people to use the public transportation in place of their automobiles.

It is also advised that cycling could be a substitute for cars. According to statistics, most journeys taken by people living in cities are less than two miles which can perfectly be replaced by bikes. It would be advisable to offer vouchers to people to make purchasing a bike affordable and economical. It is also suggested that a network of bike lanes can easily be designed in cities so that biking is both safe and fun for the inhabitants. Not only does this approach reduce car traffic in cities, but also improve overall health and well-being of residents. Take Denmark and the Netherlands for example, two countries which have managed to tackle traffic congestion problem in their countries by adopting these strategies.

In conclusion, a subsidized, efficient public transportation plays an important role in terms of encouraging people to leave their cars at their garages and take the buses or the subway. Cycling is also viewed as an undeniable alternative to car use which can be implemented in order to encourage people no to use their cars.