There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Young individuals in today’s world are often under pressure to pursue academic success. To this end, it is believed that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be excluded from the school curriculum. From my perspective, I wholeheartedly disagree with this idea.

First and foremost, non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, play a significant role in instilling essential skills which are fundamental to the well-rounded development of students. Physical education involves team sports and games that can promote communication, cooperation, and social interactions among peers; cookery classes equip students with basic culinary skills, and nutrition knowledge, contributing significantly to their health and well-being. These skills are invaluable for navigating the social landscape beyond the classroom. Hence, if youngsters solely focus on academic performance, they will be likely to lack these skills and tackle some challenges in life, especially when growing up.

Another justification is that these non-academic subjects play a pivotal role in identifying and nurturing individual talents. Some excel academically, but some have an innate affinity for other fields. For example, students who struggle with mathematics and physics may outperform in sports or be able to cook decent meals. By early recognizing and cultivating the necessary skills to support these talents, they can gain a reputation for themselves as professional athletes or chefs. Thus, eliminating these non-academic subjects may hinder students’ potential to explore and cultivate their talents outside the academic framework.

In conclusion, students in today’s world are usually under pressure to pursue academic success at the expense of non-academic subjects such as physical education and cookery. I disagree with this view as non-academic disciplines can contribute significantly to the well-rounded development of youngster and aid in identifying and cultivating their talents.