There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that outdoor activities should be removed from schools so that the students to focus more on their studies. This essay strongly disagrees with this, because outdoor activities not only play a vital role in keeping them physically and mentally healthy but also help to strengthen their problem-solving abilities.

To begin, physical education plays a pivotal role in shaping the students’ health. They get exercise and play tons of outdoor games rather than just sitting in one place and studying, which allows them to have a refreshment and break from the pressure of studies, hence they are mentally healthier. Again sitting in one place for too long can result in long-term health problems like back pain. According to a recent study, approximately 70% of a child’s playing time is at school.

Secondly, outdoor activities allow the children to be tough and face problems fearlessly. It helps them to be better at solving certain problems like what to do if someone gets hurt. Furthermore, it teaches them to be independent and hence successful in their future. It is shown in recent research that around 89% of successful people around the globe had excellent physical education when they were at school.

In conclusion, it can be said that physical education plays an essential role in shaping a child’s future by making them physically and mentally healthy and better at dealing with certain situations in times of need, therefore, this essay strongly disagrees with the fact that outdoor activities should be eliminated from school syllabus.