There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, financial and academical success are considered to be the epitomes of life. This can be a healthy incentive for some students, while others risk to crumble under the pressure and built up expectation from friends, colleagues or even family. Some people suggest eliminating non-academic subjects from school while others stand their ground on a more open minded subject divresity. I personally think that non theory based subjects are essential for propelling a student into its best career.

I start off by saying that taking the subjects in discussion out of the equation will automatically remove the fun part of going to school. This is probably one of the main motivations for the majority of students to wake up and head to their first class.

Secondly, these passive subjects allow students to take a small break from an intellectual marathon and to socialize with one another. Soft skills are essential to succseed in the working world. On top of this, physical education, for example, helps loosen up the muscle after hours of being sat in the same position. Cookery and art subjects contribute to the personal growth of all pupils. These are subjects that encourage them to unleash their full imagination and creativity.

Further more, I don’t want to feed the view that without a degree or premium grades it’s impossible to find a high paying or satisfying job. Jobs like electrician and plumber are currently being very well paid since everyone is focused on an academic career, causing a shortage of supply with an always existing demand.

Different subjects affect students in diversified ways. Some more directly, like academic subjects and others in a more subtle way. Finding a balance between both will maximize the outake of a pupil from their time in school.