There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an immense amount of pressure on students today to succeed academically. There are opinions on how non-academic topics, such as physical exercise and gastronomy, should be excluded from the school syllabus to help young people focus on academic matters. This essay disagrees that children should only focus on academic subjects. Firstly I will give reasons why non-scholarly extracurriculars are important for students and secondly, I will define what a successful educational program looks like.

Young people today face challenges to strive in their scholarly pursuits. As people have different interests and strengths, it is critical to understand that one person’s strength does not equate to his or her peers – perhaps this could be explained by the lateralization of brain function. For instance, there are right-brained individuals who strive on the creative side of things and left-brain thinkers who are strong in mathematics and logic skills.

Furthermore, I believe that extracurricular activities can support youngsters in their educational pursuits. Having a variety of activities outside the classroom can alleviate the pressure that kids accumulate in the classroom. For example, exercises will improve their physical strength, which in turn will help students to concentrate better on their studies. Going into cookery or any other creative class will enhance the creative process the child has, thus helping them to think outside the box.

In summary, having both academic and non-academic subjects as part of the school program provides young people with a holistic approach to education and better interactions with one another, thus creating a strong community. In my view, both kids and teachers will benefit from the comprehensive plan as students’ performances reflect on their teachers and can bring a personal satisfaction to the faculty staff.