There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, society is sharply pushing young people to succeed academically. Consequently, many individuals think that some non-academic subjects should be removed from school programs in order to direct young people toward academic work. In my view, this perspective is not supported by compelling arguments, and I firmly believe that school’s function should cover as many study fields as possible. As a result, juveniles and teenagers will be more aware of their choices in the future.

On the one hand, schools have an important role in ensuring some features, such as creativity and cooperation, and this kind of skills are not achievable if schools are too specialized. Ensuring a diversified environment and many lectures would lead in greater outcomes from young people. For instance, many students argue that subjects like art and music could result very boring, but it is important to note how these subjects improve people’s communication skills and ability to create connections between topics.

On the other hand, many people feel like that certain subjects are useless in today’s world and schools should be more focused on developing academic skills on young people as soon as possible. In this way, younger generation will be better prepared when they have to choose their university course. For example, concentrating people only on academic subjects might lead to stronger knowledge when teenagers begin their college.

In conclusion, I think that schools should keep its general classes, as talents could arise in any field. Therefore promoting a specialized schools could affects negatively young ones and bring more disadvantages than advantages.