There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment.What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Student’s knowledge has always been evaluated this or that way. Nowadays, estimation of cognition by means of a unique examination has become common compared to the recent past. There are some benefits and drawbacks of this issue.

One of the pros of this tendency is that concluding exams make learners do their best in order to get a higher score. In turn, this teaches them how to manage their time and prove themselves; therefore, they tend to make an effort to overcome their difficulties. Furthermore, this trend is a way of increasing the rate of competition among those, who want to be better than their peers. Achieving good results brings them self-esteem and inner satisfaction as well. Researches have shown that having a goal with the intention of being praised and differentiated boosts assurance; those become more successful in their future career life.

Since there is nothing without negative sides, this drift has numerous disadvantages. Firstly, the tension students experience, raises the level of anxiety which can cause myriad ailments like insomnia, depression, and diarrhea. Scientists have verified that most irremedial fatal diseases stem from stress. On the other hand, single test is not quite enough to assess the comprehension. Not getting ready daily culminates with losing the chance to ask questions to the teacher for an explanation. Consequently, a number of topics remain unclear for those.

In conclusion, there are some upsides of a sole assessment including acquiring new skills and trying to be better than others, and downsides, such as facing health problems and staying uninformed in certain sections.