There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment.What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

In this academically advanced world, due to the requirements of higher levels of education, there is an ongoing concern that students should be evaluated through exams, while others are of the opposite opinion. Although both views offer merits, I am more inclined to the former statement.

On the one hand, there are some arguments in favor of the assertion that testing students’ knowledge through exams is a positive trend. Initially, exams allow students to showcase what they have acquired from lessons and courses, which enables teachers to measure the levels of knowledge and skills of the learners. Therefore, by analyzing exam performance, teachers can figure out students’ strengths and weaknesses and thus, they can adjust their syllabus to the needs of their classes. Subsequently, the prospect of exams motivates students to study consistently throughout the learning period, rather than cramming only before the test.

On the other hand, without frequent assessment, teachers are unable to clarify their students’ learning potential through traditional exams. Continuous evaluation reduces the pressure on students to perform well, allowing them to focus on learning throughout the semester. Teachers can provide specific feedback, which is crucial for students to identify their areas for improvement and make progress. Therefore, this method of assessing students can encourage them to reflect on their learning process, develop self-study, and become more strategic learners.

In conclusion, although traditional exams seem to be an effective way to analyze students’ learning levels, from my perspective, the beneficial advantages accompanying continual assessment should not be overlooked.