These days more and more people are going to other countries for a significant period of time either to find a job or study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

An increasing number of people today move abroad in search of a job or for education. While there are some obvious upsides to going overseas for an extended period of time, this decision is not without its downsides.

The benefits of migrating to another country for work or education vary. First of all, one can have better job prospects when they move to another country, especially a developed one. For instance, countries of the West like the US and Canada offer competitive salaries and working conditions compared to less developed countries like India. With a better income, in turn, people can afford better living standards. Furthermore, living overseas is a sensible choice from a personal growth standpoint. Having moved abroad, one can enjoy greater autonomy and expose oneself to different cultures. This, as a result, helps them grow into a mature and well-rounded individual.

Living abroad as a foreigner does not always prove favorable. Expatriates often report experiencing culture shock – maladjustment to the host country. This phenomenon manifests itself in various forms ranging from sensitivity to food and weather to difficulties blending in with the local culture. Unless counteracted, this phenomenon leads to a feeling of social alienation and possibly, physical sickness. One other common issue has to do with the cost of living abroad. People living abroad may face financial challenges due to prohibitive costs associated with housing and basic essentials as it is the case in major immigration hubs such as New York and Tokyo. Immigrants who fail to pay for rent and food consequently end up homeless or are deported to their home country.

In conclusion, while the main advantages of living and working abroad are better employment opportunities and self-growth, poor adaptation to a new country and unaffordable cost of living appear to be some drawbacks.