These days more and more people are going to other countries for a significant period of time either to find a job or study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

There is a growing trend where many people go overseas in order to work or meet academic requirements for the long term. While this shift can pose formidable challenges, particularly in terms of initial costs, financial pressure, and most significantly mental problems, I personally regard it as predominantly advantageous, especially in improving their cultural awareness and also giving people many opportunities in life.

Few concerns related to the popularity of international working and studying are its detrimental impact on individuals’ mental health and the problems related to initial costs. With some people going to foreign countries, they sometimes feel homesick due to losing their support network and experiencing early financial pressure. Many people often struggle to deal with homesickness and culture shock, which predominantly affect people’s mental state. The implications are not confined to mental issues but also extend to economic consequences, such as job loss and the absence of immediate income, which can strain their daily lives. A perfect case in point would be my brother-in-law, who went to America two years ago through illegal means in order to improve his family’s financial state; however, he first got divorced from his wife and could not earn the money he wanted, facing some mental and financial problems. In this context, the increasing trend of overseas employment and education can have significant adverse impacts in terms of mental and financial problems.

Despite these drawbacks, I firmly believe that the accessibility of international working or studying can generate more sustainable benefits, one of which is improving individuals’ cultural awareness. When people go abroad to work or study, they start appreciating cultural diversity and gain deeper insights into traditions and ways of life, thereby broadening their horizons. This is exemplified by international students who have studied through programs like FLEX, who return home with a well-rounded mindset and intercultural awareness that extend well beyond their academic lives.

Beyond this, its advantages further escalate to the opportunities they will get in foreign countries. By studying overseas, students can gain a huge amount of opportunity in terms of future jobs or self-development, especially in countries such as the USA and Japan, where education is the main priority. As a result, this not only provides them with academic opportunities but also can be the foundation of their future family life due to the opportunities they have. A prime example is self-made millionaires who relocated to other countries in their early lives, which gave them both education and employment opportunities. In this regard, I do presume that international education and employment indeed engender more favourable outcomes, particularly in terms of cultural awareness and lifelong opportunities.

In conclusion, although the popularity of overseas jobs and studies may lead to serious mental and financial problems, I am more convinced that its merits – enhanced cultural exchange and later life and job-related opportunities – are far more profound and ultimately outweigh the drawbacks.